Four students selected to represent the UK at the International Biology Olympiad

Four students have been chosen to represent the UK at this year’s International Biology Olympiad, taking place in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates.

The students selected are Matilda Littlemore from Latymer Upper School, Tom Postance from RGS Guildford, Robert Halliday from Hills Road Sixth Form College Cambridge, and Rui-Lin Wang from Winchester College.

From left to right: IBO 2023 UK Team: Rui-Lin Wang, Robert Halliday, Tom Postance, and Matilda Littlemore. IBO Selection Team: Dr Andrew Treharne (UKBC), Dr Matthew Johnston (UKBC Chair), Katherine Lister (UKBC).

The team of four were chosen at the University of Warwick from sixteen finalists (listed below) who scored highest on this year’s British Biology Olympiad. The students were examined at Warwick on bioscience skills including micro pipetting and small invertebrate dissection. These tasks were organised by the university’s School of Life Sciences team and led by Professor Kevin Moffat and Professor Leanne Williams.

Dr Matthew Johnston, UKBC Chair, congratulated this year’s team and thanked the 16 finalists. He also expressed his thanks and gratitude to Professor Moffat, Professor Williams and the Life Sciences department for their continued support of the competitions.

The team of four will be flying out to Al Ain in July for the International Biology Olympiad, now in its 34th year, where they will compete with pre-university students from over 80 countries in a series of practical tasks and written exams.

Congratulations to the 16 Finalists!

Student NameSchool
Kit Cutler The Judd School
August Walter Deeming Winchester College
Maksym Fedorovskyy Winchester College
Fergus Gadd Bishop’s Stortford College
Bob Guan Winchester College
Robert Halliday Hills Road Sixth Form College Cambridge
Purav Kerai Queen Elizabeth’s School Barnet
Ryo Kusakari St. Paul’s School
Matilda Littlemore Latymer Upper School
Ilkin Mengusoglu Peter Symonds College
Tom Postance RGS Guildford
Siya Puthuraya Yarm School
Thomas Smith New College Pontefract
David Tierney St Joseph’s College
Denys Tkachuk Peter Symonds College
Rui-Lin Wang Winchester College
16 Finalists listed in alphabetical order

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *