What are the eligibility requirements?

The Intermediate Biology Olympiad is for students in their first year of post-16 education:

  • Y12 in England and Wales
  • Y13 in Northern Ireland
  • S5 Scotland, and
  • Equivalent year groups worldwide.


Students from all types of schools and from anywhere in the world can take part.

The competition assumes knowledge of the common elements of the beginning of biology A level syllabi.

The award boundaries are set using only students from UK schools, and are then awarded to all participating students.