Biology Competitions

Society of Biology


The 2015 Biology Challenge is now open for teachers to register their school - the deadline to register has been extended until Monday 23rd March 2015 (the competition runs 2nd - 27th March 2015).

If you are a teacher whose school is new to these competitions please contact the Society of Biology's Schools and Colleges Officer to add your school to the list before your register. You need to send your school's full name, postal address and exam centre number. Once these are added you may register your school for the Biology Challenge.

If you are a student whose school has not taken part in the competitions before please ask your biology teacher to visit this website to find out more.

2014 sees an outsanding result for the UK team at the International Biology Olympiad!

Following record participation in the British Biology Olympiad, four students were selected to represent the UK in Bali. They competed against students from 60 countries. all of whom were the winners of their national competitions. The full medals table can be found on the 2014 IBO website.

Gold medal - Adam Heath (Winchester College)
Silver medal - Dia Ghose (North London Collegiate School)
Silver medal - Josh Dickerson (Poole Grammar School)
Bronze medal - Rebecca Peel (Bilborough College)

Many congratulations to Adam, Dia, Josh and Rebecca for achieving the UK's best result for five years in the face of increasingly fierce international competition!

Their achievements have been recognised in an Early Day Motion in Parliament.

British Biology Olympiad results.

Top School: Westminster School
Top School in Northern Ireland: Portadown College
Top School in Scotland: St Aloysius's College
Top School in Wales: Cardiff Sixth Form College


Soham Bandyopadhyay- Reading School
Harriet Bedford Haberdashers' - Aske's School for Girls
Joshua Breedon - Reading School
Stephanie Cornwell - Peter Symonds College
Alex Cranston - Westminster School
Samuel Deans - Magdalen College School
Josh Dickerson - Poole Grammar School
Eric Edmond - St Albans School
Dia Ghose - North London Collegiate School
Siddarth Gupta - The Judd School
Adam Heath - Winchester College
Joseph Levin - St Paul's School
Elinor Macnab - St. Helen and St. Katherine
Rebecca Peel - Bilborough College
Harry Potts - Magdalen College School
Alex Tough - Bishop Wordsworth's School